The TRIADS Framework

A project of the California ACEs Learning and Quality Improvement Collaborative (CALQIC)


Trauma & Resilience-informed Inquiry for Adversity, Distress & Strengths

CALQIC’s TRIADS Framework describes a healing approach for screening, education, and response to Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) in primary healthcare settings. 

Our Goal, Vision and Values

Understand the goal, vision and values of CALQIC’s approach to ACEs screening and response.


The TRIADS Framework is based on a stress response model linking three factors that affect health: 1) adverse events; 2) the individual’s distress response; and 3) the individual’s strengths.

Framework Tools and Core Elements

Learn about the 5 core elements of the TRIADS Framework: 1) Foundation, 2) Environment, 3) Patient Education, 4) Screening for Adversity, Distress and Strengths, and 5) Provider Post-Screening Response. Explore goals, strategies and tools for each.


Learn about the California ACEs Learning and Quality Improvement Collaborative, a key component of the California ACEs Aware initiative.

Appendix: Additional Resources

Draft Version 11.9.20

The TRIADS Framework is a work in progress that will evolve over the course of an 18-month learning collaborative in advance of sharing a refined version in an open source format.